Flag of Basilicata (GIF)

The flag of Basilicata (Italian: Bandiera della Basilicata) features a striking dark blue field adorned with a shield-shaped coat of arms at its center, encapsulating the essence of the region's identity and natural features. The coat of arms, comprised of a silver Samnite shield embellished with four elegant blue waves, serves as a powerful emblem of the region's cultural and geographical significance. Each of the four waves symbolizes the four major rivers that traverse the region, namely Basento, Agri, Bradano, and Sinni, paying homage to the vital lifelines that have shaped the landscape and sustained the communities of Basilicata throughout history. This simple yet meaningful design of the flag beautifully captures the essence of the region's relationship with its rivers and their intrinsic role in the cultural and environmental heritage of Basilicata.

Adopted:May 21, 1999
Flag image:Animated GIF (25 frames looped)

Basilicata, a region in southern Italy, enthralls visitors with its rugged landscapes, ancient towns, and rich cultural heritage. Nestled between the Apennine Mountains and the Ionian Sea, Basilicata boasts a diverse topography characterized by dramatic cliffs, deep valleys, and fertile plains. The region is renowned for its historical significance, with notable attractions such as the ancient city of Matera, which is known for its stunning cave dwellings that date back to prehistoric times and have earned it a UNESCO World Heritage designation. Basilicata's rustic charm is further accentuated by its traditional villages, where time-honored customs and authentic rural lifestyles endure. The region's cuisine, which highlights local ingredients such as peperoni cruschi (crispy red peppers) and handmade pasta, reflects its agricultural roots and Mediterranean flavors. Potenza, located in the mountainous interior, serves as the capital of Basilicata. With a population of approximately 562,869 (2019) people, the region's serene landscapes, captivating history, and genuine hospitality make Basilicata an alluring destination for travelers seeking an authentic and off-the-beaten-path Italian experience.

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)