Flags of Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha (GIF)

Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha is a British Overseas Territory in the South Atlantic, consisting of the island of Saint Helena, Ascension Island, and the archipelago of Tristan da Cunha. The United Kingdom flag is used for all official purposes throughout the territory. However, each of the three islands also has its own flag for official use. All three flags consist of a blue ensign with the Union Jack in the canton and the island's own coat of arms on the right side. The presence of the Union Jack in the canton of the Blue Ensign signifies the maritime affiliation of British Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies with the United Kingdom and its historical and constitutional ties to the British Crown.

The waving flag of Saint Helena (Animated GIF)
Flag of Saint Helena

The coat of arms of Saint Helena is composed of a shield divided into two parts, with the upper portion featuring the national bird, the Saint Helena plover, known as the wirebird locally. The lower section depicts a coastal scene of the island, showcasing a three-masted sailing ship positioned alongside the mountainous terrain to the left. This coastal depiction is derived from the colonial seal of the colony and illustrates the English flag flying proudly from the ship, symbolizing the island's historical and cultural ties to England and its maritime significance in the region.

The waving flag of Ascension (Animated GIF)
Flag of Ascension

The coat of arms of Ascension Island features a central shield showcasing three wavy white-blue bands alternating with three white wideawake birds. The shield is topped with a crest consisting of a helmet adorned with two-tone flourishes (green and white), separated by a tricolor ornament (green, white, and blue) from a three-masted ship. In the backdrop, the Green Mountain stands prominently behind the ship. The shield is flanked by two sea turtles, emblematic of the turtles that lay their eggs on the beaches of Ascension Island. This comprehensive depiction highlights the island's maritime significance, its diverse avian population, the prominence of Green Mountain, and the vital role of sea turtles in its ecosystem, embodying Ascension Island's natural beauty and ecological importance.

The waving flag of Tristan da Cunha (Animated GIF)
Flag of Tristan da Cunha

The coat of arms of Tristan da Cunha comprises a shield adorned with four albatrosses in a blue-and-white mirror image design. The central diamond-shaped charge is inspired by the da Cunha family's coat of arms, linked to Admiral Tristão da Cunha. Two Tristan rock lobsters serve as supporters, representing the marine life surrounding the island. The crest features a naval crown and a Tristan da Cunha longboat. Under the shield, the motto "Our faith is our strength" encapsulates the islanders' resilience and unity in the face of the challenges posed by their remote and isolated location, underscoring the significance of their faith and collective determination.

Adoption dates:1984 (Saint Helena),
May 11, 2013 (Ascension),
October 20, 2002 (Tristan da Cunha)
Flag images:Animated GIF (25 frames looped)
Flag emoji codes: 🇸🇭

Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha form a British Overseas Territory in the South Atlantic Ocean, with a combined population of approximately 5,633 as of 2016. Saint Helena, with its capital at Jamestown, is renowned for its historical significance as the final exile and resting place of Napoleon Bonaparte, alongside its stunning cliffs and diverse wildlife. Ascension Island, known for its volcanic terrain and British military presence, plays a pivotal role as a global space tracking station. Tristan da Cunha, recognized as one of the world's most remote inhabited islands, captivates with its rugged landscapes and thriving albatross colonies. Despite their geographic isolation, these territories share a rich British heritage, offering visitors and researchers alike a unique blend of history, natural beauty, and a vibrant array of flora and fauna.

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)