Flag of the Cayman Islands (GIF)

The Cayman Islands is a British Overseas Territory in the western Caribbean Sea. Its capital is George Town, its population is approximately 64,000, and its area is 264 km².

The flag of the Cayman Islands is a Blue Ensign with the coat of arms of the Cayman Islands on the right. The coat of arms consists of a shield, a crested helm, and a motto. The three green stars represent each of the three islands; the blue and white wavy lines represent the sea; and the golden lion represents Britain. The turtle above the shield represents the Cayman's seafaring history, the rope represents the traditional thatch-rope industry, and the pineapple represents ties with Jamaica. The height-to-width ratio in the flag is 1:2, and the flag was adopted on May 14, 1958.

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)