Flag of Mauritius (GIF)

The national flag of Mauritius consists of four equal horizontal red, blue, yellow, and green colored bands. The red color represents the struggle for freedom and independence. The blue band represents the Indian Ocean. While yellow represents the new light of independence, green represents Mauritius's agriculture. The height-to-width ratio in the flag is 2:3, and the flag was adopted on March 12, 1968.

The shield of its coat of arms includes a ship symbolizing European settlers, three palm trees depicting the country's tropical vegetation and the country's three dependencies, a key symbolizing the strategic importance of the island, and a star depicting the island as the star of the Indian Ocean. Supported by an extinct dodo and a sambar deer, on either side of the shield are two sugar canes, the country's main agricultural product.

The Mauritius flag is waving on a flagpole rising from the world globe.
Mauritius, officially known as the Republic of Mauritius, is an island country in the Indian Ocean. Its capital is Port Louis, and its population is about 1,266,000.

Capital and largest city:Port Louis (pop. 155,000)
Other major cities:Beau Bassin-Rose Hill (111,000)
Vacoas (110,000)
Languages:Creole, French, other
Region:Eastern Africa
Ethnic groups:68% Indo Mauritian
27% Creole
3% Sino Mauritian
2% Franco Mauritian
Religion:48% Hinduism
26% Roman Catholic
17% Islam
6% Other Christian
3% Buddhists and others
Area:2,040 km²
(790 sq mi)
Currency:Mauritian rupee

Keywords: Flag and coat of arms of Mauritius (French: Drapeau et armoiries de Maurice; Mauritian Creole: Drapo ak anblèm Moris), GIF

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)