Flag of South Korea (GIF)

The flag of South Korea (Korean: 대한민국의 국기) consists of three parts: a white rectangular background, a red and blue Taegeuk symbol that symbolizes balance in the center, and four black trigrams toward each corner. White represents peace and purity. The middle circle is derived from the um-yang philosophy (yin-yang from China) and represents the balance in the universe. The trigrams show movement and harmony as basic principles. Also, each trigram represents one of the four classical elements: spring, summer, winter, autumn; east, west, north, south, etc. The height-to-width ratio in the flag is 2:3, and the current version of the flag was adopted on May 30, 2011.

Its emblem consists of the Taegeuk symbol surrounded by five stylized leaves, symbolizing the country's national flower, the Rose of Sharon, and a ribbon with the official Korean name of the country in Korean letters.

The South Korean flag is waving on a flagpole rising from the globe.
South Korea, officially known as the Republic of Korea, is a country that forms the southern part of the Korean Peninsula in East Asia. Its capital is Seoul, and its population is about 51.74 million (2021). According to its land and sea borders, it borders with China, Japan, and North Korea.

The waving flag of South Korea with its emblem (unofficial)
Capital and largest city:Seoul
Other major cities:Busan,
Official language:Korean
Region:Eastern Asia
Ethnic groups:99% South Korean,
1% Others
Religions:56.9% Korean shamanism
or non-religious beliefs,
19.7% Protestantism,
15.5% Korean Buddhism,
7.9% Catholic Church
Nationality name:South Korean
Area:100,363 km²
(38,750 sq mi)
Population:51.74 million (2021)
Currency:South Korean Won
Country codes:KR, KOR (ISO 3166)
Internet Top-Level Domain:.kr
Calling code:+82
Flag emoji code:🇰🇷

Keywords: Flag and emblem of South Korea - Taegeukgi (Korean: 대한민국 국기와 국장 - 태극기), GIF

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)