Flag of Ghana (GIF)

Ghana's national flag consists of three red, yellow, and green horizontal stripes of Pan-African colors and a black five-pointed star in the center of the yellow stripe. Red represents the blood of those who died in the country's struggle for independence from Great Britain. Yellow represents the country's wealth of minerals. The green symbolizes the rich forests and natural riches of the country, and the black star is the symbol of the emancipation of Africa. The height-to-width ratio in the flag is 2:3, and the current version of the flag was adopted on February 28, 1966.

The blue shield in the coat of arms is divided into four parts by a green cross of Saint George with a yellow lion on it. The first quarter features a sword and staff symbolizing the traditional authority of Ghana. In the second quarter, the Osu Castle appears on the sea, symbolizing the national government. In the third quarter is a cocoa tree, symbolizing Ghana's agricultural wealth. In the fourth quarter is a gold mine, which symbolizes the country's mineral wealth. And the shield is supported by two golden Tawny eagles with the Order of the Ghana Star hanging around their necks.

The Ghana flag is waving on a flagpole rising from the world globe.
Ghana, officially the Republic of Ghana, is a country in the sub-region of West Africa along the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean. Its capital is Accra, and its population is about 30,281,000.

The waving flag of Ghana with its coat of arms (unofficial)

Capital and largest city:Accra (pop. 2,291,000)
Other major cities:Kumasi (2,069,000)
Official languages:English
Region:Western Africa
Ethnic groups:47.5% Akans
16.6% Mole-Dagbani
13.9% Ewe
7.4% Ga-Adangbe
5.7% Gurma
5.0% Fulani
Religion:76.9% Christian
16.4% Muslim
2.6% Traditional
4.1% Other / None
Area:239,567 km²
(92,497 sq mi)
Currency:Ghanaian cedi

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)