Flag of the Netherlands (GIF)

The national flag of the Netherlands is a tricolor flag consisting of three equal horizontal bands from top to bottom: red (shiny vermilion), white (silver) and blue (cobalt blue). The red color symbolizes power and politics, the white color means neutrality and acceptance, and the blue color represents the nation's people and their hard work. Also, the colors of the flag are known as freedom colors. The height-to-width ratio in the flag is 2:3, and the flag was adopted on February 19, 1937.

The yellow checkered blue shield on its coat of arms features a crowned yellow lion holding a sword in one hand and arrows in the other. There is a royal crown on top of the shield, and the shield is supported by two yellow lions.

The Netherlands flag is waving on a flagpole rising from the world globe.
The Netherlands, officially known as the Kingdom of the Netherlands, is a sovereign state and constitutional monarchy in Western Europe. Its capital is Amsterdam (official) and its population is about 17,610,000.

The waving flag of the Netherlands with its coat of arms (unofficial)

Capital and largest city:Amsterdam (pop. 742,000)
Other major cities:Rotterdam (598,000)
The Hague (474,000)
Official languages:Dutch
Region:Western Europe
Ethnic groups:79.3% Dutch
6.3% Other European
4.9% Indo
2.4% Turks
2.2% Moroccans
2.1% Surinamese
0.9% Caribbeans
0.3% Chinese
0.3% Iraqis
3.9% Other
Religion:50.1% Not religious
43.8% Christianity
4.9% Islam
1.2% Other
Area:42,508 km²
(16,412 sq mi)
Currency:Euro, United States dollar

Keywords: Flag and coat of arms of the Netherlands (Dutch: Vlag en wapen van Nederland), GIF

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)