Flag of Nicaragua (GIF)

The flag of Nicaragua consists of three horizontal blue, white, and blue bands with a national coat of arms in the middle. The two blue stripes represent the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, and the white color symbolizes peace. Blue stripes also symbolize loyalty and justice. The five volcanoes in the coat of arms represent the original five member states. The red Liberty Cap in the middle of the coat of arms symbolizes national freedom. The rays of the sun and the rainbow are the symbols of the bright future. The height-to-width ratio in the flag is 3:5, and the flag was adopted on August 27, 1971.

The Nicaragua flag is waving on a flagpole rising from the world globe.
Nicaragua, officially known as the Republic of Nicaragua, is a country located on the Central American isthmus. Its capital is Managua, and its population is about 6,394,000.

The waving flag of Nicaragua with its big coat of arms (unofficial)

The coat of arms of Nicaragua on a waving white flag

Capital and largest city:Managua (pop. 1,043,000)
Other major cities:León (206,000)
Masaya (176,000)
Matagalpa (158,000)
Official languages:Spanish
Region:Central America
Ethnic groups:69% Mestizo
17% White
9% Black
5% Indigenous
Religion:55.0% Catholic Church
27.2% Protestant
0.9% Jehovah Witnesses
14.7% Unaffiliated
2.2% Other religions
Area:130,375 km²
(50,338 sq mi)

Keywords: Flag and coat of arms of Nicaragua (Spanish: Bandera y escudo de armas de Nicaragua), GIF

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)