Flag of South Sudan (GIF)

The South Sudan flag is composed of three horizontal stripes of black, red, and green, separated by white lines, and a blue triangle with a yellow star on the left. The black color represents the people of South Sudan. Red refers to the blood spilled for the independence of the country. Green symbolizes the country's agricultural wealth. White represents peace. Blue symbolizes the waters of the Nile. Finally, yellow means unity and hope. The height-to-width ratio in the flag is 1:2, and the flag was adopted on July 9, 2005.

Its coat of arms includes an African fish eagle, symbolizing strength, endurance, and glory; a spade, symbolizing hard work; and a shield and spear, symbolizing the protection of sovereignty.

The South Sudan flag is waving on a flagpole rising from the world globe.
South Sudan, officially known as the Republic of South Sudan, is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa. Its capital is Juba, and its population is about 12,778,000.

The waving flag of South Sudan with its coat of arms (unofficial)

Capital and largest city:Juba (pop. 230,000)
Other major cities:Wau (118,000)
Malakal (115,000)
Yambio (106,000)
Official languages:English
Region:Eastern Africa
Ethnic groups:36% Dinka
16% Nuer
6% Azande
42% other about 50 groups
Religion:60.5% Christianity
32.9% Traditional religion
6.2% Islam
0.4% Other
Demonym:South Sudanese, Nilotic
Area:619,745 km² (239,285 sq mi)
Currency:South Sudanese pound

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)