Flag of Aragon (GIF)

The flag of Aragon (Spanish: Bandera de Aragón, Catalan: Bandera d'Aragó) features the Senyera (Spanish: Señera) pattern of four striking red stripes on a vibrant yellow background, with the coat of arms of Aragon positioned to the left of the center. The coat of arms of Aragon embodies the region's rich historical narrative and evolution from its early inception to the establishment of its monarchy. It comprises four distinct shields, each representing pivotal stages in Aragon's history. The Sobrarbe tree or the Ainsa shield symbolizes the legendary Kingdom of Sobrarbe and the genesis of Aragonese liberty. The Cross of Íñigo Arista, in the second quarter, signifies the Pyrenees and the ancient Aragonese monarchy. The third quarter proudly displays the St. George's Cross, or the "Four Moors flag," which incorporates the red cross of St. George set against a white backdrop, with a 'Maure' or head of a Moor in each quarter, symbolizing the region's triumphs in battles against Moorish forces. Finally, the Bars of Aragon in the fourth quarter represent the familiar coat of arms of the Kings of Aragon, signifying the unification of all territories within the Crown of Aragon. This intricate design and combination of elements embody the historical resilience and complex identity of the Aragonese people.

Adopted:May 25, 1933
Flag image:Animated GIF (25 frames looped)

Aragon, a historic and culturally rich region located in northeastern Spain, is renowned for its diverse landscapes, ranging from the soaring Pyrenees mountains to the fertile Ebro River basin. With a population of around 1.321 million (2019) residents, the region encompasses a vibrant blend of historical influences from the Romans, Moors, and Christians, leaving behind a legacy of splendid architecture, such as the Aljafería Palace in Zaragoza and the Mudejar-style structures across the region. Zaragoza serves as the capital of Aragon, offering a bustling urban center steeped in history and culture. Aragon's economy is primarily driven by agriculture, with the production of wheat, barley, grapes, and olives contributing significantly to its prosperity. The region is also recognized for its strong tradition of folklore, music, and dance, including the jota, a lively traditional dance accompanied by castanets and guitars. Aragon's cultural heritage is further underscored by its unique festivals and celebrations, such as the Fiestas del Pilar in Zaragoza, which honor the patron saint of the city, Our Lady of the Pillar. With its captivating history, stunning natural beauty, and vibrant urban centers, Aragon continues to enchant visitors and locals alike with its rich tapestry of traditions and landscapes.

No comments:

Popular Flags (last 30 days)